Skip to main content

For Immediate Release
June 11, 2014

Suffolk Student Athletes Lauded at Awards Ceremony

Suffolk County Community College student/athletes were honored on June 5 when more than three-dozen were recognized for their on-field skills as well as team spirit, sportsmanship, support of fellow athletes and academic achievement.

Suffolk’s Athletic Director Kevin Foley said that this year’s men’s national champion in the pole vault, Josiah Hoshyla had a perfect 4.0 grade point average and first team All-American and National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA)  Academic All-American, baseball player Travis George scored perfectly as well.

Foley said that Tori Thompson of the Women’s Track Team won three national championships this year while maintaining a 3.1 GPA.  Foley added that Suffolk placed a total of seven student athletes on the NJCAA Academic All-American Team – four of the students had a 3.8 GPA or better.

Individual team awards were distributed for team Most Valuable Player (MVP) and Coach’s Awards to individuals who were not only skilled in their respective sports, but also exhibited leadership qualities that go above and beyond.

Additionally, one athlete was singled out for a new prestigious award – The Gene Farry Award. The honor is named after former Suffolk Men’s Head Basketball Coach and Athletic Director Gene Farry and awarded to the student athlete who best embodies the qualities and characteristics of team spirit, leadership, commitment and excellence.

Galvin Biggs of Coram, a track team member and Coach’s Award recipient was presented with the high honor.

  MVP Award   Coach's Award  
Baseball Travis George Travis George


Dan D'Onofrio Dan D'Onofrio


Men's Basketball Chris Millender Chris Millender


Armand Correa Armand Correa

East Patchogue

Bowling Kim Curreri Kim Curreri


Ramon Carcamo Ramon Carcamo


Men's Cross Country Austin McGlone Austin McGlone


John Seskus John Seskus


Golf Photo Not available Andrew Owad


Photo Not available Bryan Morin

Port Jeff Station

Men's Lacrosse Dominick Santangelo Dominick Santangelo


Sean Conway Sean Conway

Center Moriches

Men's Soccer  Frankie Guzman Frankie Guzman

Brentwood (right)

 Andre Brown Andre Brown

Central Islip (left)

Men's Tennis Dan Klein Dan Klein

Miller Place

Anthony Fazio Anthony Fazio

Center Moriches

Men's Track & Field Diamonte Corley Diamonte Corley


Galvin Biggs Galvin Biggs


Women's Basketball Larissa Ellermann Larissa Ellermann

Gutersloh, Germany

 Rynese Smith Rynese Smith


Women's Cross Country Danielle Milo Danielle Milo

West Islip

Megan Lavery Megan Lavery


Dance  Sheila Christoffersen Sheila Christoffersen


 Katrina Pfeifer Katrina Pfeifer


Cheer Josette Iacone Josette Iacone

West Babylon

Marissa O’Neill Marissa O'Neill

Kings Park

Softball Morgan Johnston Morgan Johnston

St. James

Linda Robrecht Linda Robrecht

East Setauket

Women's Soccer Amber Petrillo Amber Petrillo


Marlaina Sherman Marlaina Sherman

Miller Place

Women's Tennis No Photo Amanda Van Nostrand


Caitlin Lawler Caitlin Lawler

Baiting Hollow

Women's Track & Field  Tori Thompson Tori Thompson

West Babylon

 Kathleen Costello Kathleen Costello


 Volleyball Brittney Olazagasti Brittney Olazagasti


Katie Shannon Katie Shannon


Women's Lacrosse Corinne Geiger Corinne Geiger

South Setauket

Mary Vecchio Mary Vecchio