Skip to main content

For Immediate Release
July 17, 2014

SUNY Chancellor Bestows Excellence Award on Five From Suffolk

SUNY Chancellor Bestows Excellence Award on Five From Suffolk.

Five Suffolk County Community College faculty and staff members have been awarded The Chancellor’s Award for Excellence for superior professional achievement.

SUNY Chancellor Nancy Zimpher announced the awards last month.

The Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence are presented annually to faculty and staff in six categories: Faculty Service, Librarianship, Professional Service, Scholarship and Creative Activities, Teaching, and Classified Service.

The honor provides system-wide recognition for consistently superior professional achievement and encourages the ongoing pursuit of excellence. Through these awards, SUNY publicly proclaims its pride in the accomplishment and personal dedication of its instructional faculty, librarians, and staff across its 64 campuses and System Administration.

Individuals selected for this honor are role models within the SUNY community. In acknowledgment of their selection, recipients are recognized in the college catalogue by the addition of the phrase "State University Chancellor's Award for Excellence in [category].” A certificate and a Chancellor’s Excellence Medallion are also bestowed upon each honoree to commemorate selection. Recipients are honored by their respective campuses during commencement exercises, at academic convocations, or other special events hosted in their honor.

“We are proud of our honorees who SUNY has publicly proclaimed its pride in,” said Suffolk County Community College President Dr. Shaun L. McKay. “The individuals selected for this honor are role models within the College and the SUNY community," Dr, McKay added.

Suffolk’s Chancellor’s Award for Excellence recipients are:

o   Faculty Service

§  Amy Czura, Associate Professor of Biology


o   Professional Service

§  Drew Fawcett, College Associate Dean of Institutional Advancement

§  Christopher Gherardi, College Associate Dean of Faculty and Professional Advancement


o   Scholarship and Creative Activities

§  Dan Gilhooley, Professor of Visual Arts


o   Classified Service

§  Junius Atkins, Custodial Worker III