For Immediate Release
April 12, 2018

Dr. Tina Good Receives 2018 Distinguished Service Award

The Faculty Council of Community Colleges (FCCC) is proud to announce that Professor Tina Good of Suffolk County Community College received the Faculty Council’s 2018 Distinguished Service Award. This annual award honors an individual who has worked to promote the success of The State University of New York’s 30 community colleges and the well-being of their faculty, students, and staff.

Past awardees include SUNY Chancellor Emeritus Nancy L. Zimpher, SUNY Chairman of the Board H. Carl McCall, and New York State Senator Kenneth LaValle. Dr. Good served as president of the Faculty Council from 2009 to 2015. Under her leadership, the FCCC experienced unprecedented growth, both in operational scale and stature. As a result of advocacy efforts led by Dr. Good, the FCCC president was granted a permanent seat on the SUNY Board of Trustees.

“Tina’s leadership elevated the role of the Faculty Council among our SUNY colleagues and among community college presidents,” said Nina Tamrowski, president of the Faculty Council of Community Colleges. “Tina continues to be a great friend and resource for the Faculty Council. We can think of no one more deserving of this year’s Distinguished Service Award.”

Dr. Good was honored Friday evening at the Faculty Council’s spring plenary, held at Mohawk Valley Community College in Utica, N.Y. on April 5-7, 2018.