Skip to main content

Suffolk County Community College is a two-year unit of the State University of New York (SUNY).

SUNY's 64 statewide campuses bring educational opportunity within commuting distance of virtually all New York citizens and comprise the nation's largest, comprehensive system of public higher education.

When founded in 1948, SUNY consolidated 29 state-operated, but unaffiliated, institutions. Since then, SUNY has grown to a point where its impact is felt educationally, culturally and economically throughout the state.

SUNY offers more than 7,000 degree and certificate programs at its 64 campuses, which include 30 community colleges. Opportunities range from microcredentials and two-year associate degree programs to doctoral studies.

The 30 two-year community colleges operating under the SUNY program play a unique role in the expansion of educational opportunity by:

  • providing transfer options to students who wish to continue to earn advanced degrees
  • providing local industry with trained technicians in a wide variety of workforce curricula, and
  • providing the community with a resource for academic, technical and professional advancement, as well as personal enrichment.

To learn more about SUNY, visit

The SUNY Board of Trustees is the governing body of the State University of New York. It consists of 18 members, 15 of whom are appointed by the Governor, by and with consent of the New York State Senate. In addition, the presidents of SUNY's Student Assembly, Faculty Council of Community Colleges, and University Faculty Senate serve as ex-officio members of the Board. The Student Assembly President is a voting member.